menu icon Table Of Contents

7. Pastoral Care and Wellbeing

Part B – The System of Reward and Awards


 The System of Reward and Awards

There are three discrete categories of awards used to acknowledge students’ effort and achievement in various aspects of College life:  Sports, Academic and Silver Awards.  Students who demonstrate excellence in two or more of these categories may also be eligible for the prestigious Chanel Award.

Sports Awards

The purpose of the Sports Awards is to reward students who are able to achieve sporting excellence as well as those who demonstrate exceptional sportsmanship and cooperation.  Sports Awards will be determined by the Team Coach and Sports Coordinator, who will present pennants, trophies, certificates, Mitchell Medals etc. at the Annual Sports Award ceremony or Prize Giving ceremony each year.

Academic Awards

The purpose of the Academic Awards is to reward Academic Excellence across Key Learning Areas as well as Meritorious Achievement in undertaking class tasks.  Class teachers and Leaders of Learning determine those students who will receive a medallion for academic excellence in each course, as well as those who will be presented with a certificate in acknowledgment of meritorious achievement.  These awards will be presented at the annual Prize Giving ceremonies.

Other academic awards may be presented at the Principal’s discretion.

Merit Cards may also be awarded by class teachers to acknowledge students’ commendable achievement in class work outside of the fixed pattern of awards outlined above.  These cards will be presented in class.

Silver and Gold Awards

The purpose of Silver Awards is to reward students for their outstanding effort, participation and involvement in College and related activities that do not involve academic or sporting pursuits.  Examples of the activities that will be considered for a Silver Award include:  community service, school representation (non-sport), contribution to the Religious life of the College, demonstrable leadership, social justice, cultural excellence, school service, Marist Spirit.  This is not an exhaustive list.  As students achieve in significant areas of endeavour that are not academic or sports related, they will be rewarded with a Commendation Certificate by the teacher responsible for the organisation of that activity or the relevant Year Coordinator.  Students will then accumulate Commendation Certificates in order to earn a Silver Award.

After gaining five Commendation Certificates, students gain a Silver Award. Once a student earns three Silver Awards they become eligible for a Silver Badge. If a student holds a Silver Badge and receives three additional Silver Awards they are then eligible for a Gold Badge. Awards may be withheld due to poor behaviour.

Chanel Award

The Chanel Award has been instituted to reward and acknowledge those students whose achievements and contributions to the College reflect the Marist Spirit.  This award is considered to be the most prestigious of all the awards presented by the College.  To qualify for a Chanel Award, a student must demonstrate excellence in at least two of the categories, Sports, Academic or Silver Awards as determined by the Moderating Committee.  The recipient of the Chanel Award must receive at least one Gold Badge. The presentation of the Chanel Awards will take place at the annual Prize Giving ceremony.