menu icon Table Of Contents

7. Pastoral Care and Wellbeing

Part B – The System of Rewards and Awards (Under review 2018)

There are three discrete categories of awards used to acknowledge students’ effort and achievement in various aspects of College life:  Sports, Academic and Silver Awards.  Students who demonstrate excellence in two or more of these categories may also be eligible for the prestigious Chanel Award.

Sports Awards

The purpose of the Sports Awards is to reward students who are able to achieve sporting excellence as well as those who demonstrate exceptional sportsmanship and cooperation.  Sports Awards will be determined by the Team Coach and Sports Coordinator, who will present pennants, trophies, certificates, Mitchell Medals etc. at the Annual Sports Award ceremony or Prize Giving ceremony each year.

Academic Awards

The purpose of the Academic Awards is to reward Academic Excellence across Key Learning Areas as well as Meritorious Achievement in undertaking class tasks.  Class teachers and Leaders of Learning determine those students who will receive a medallion for academic excellence in each course, as well as those who will be presented with a certificate in acknowledgment of meritorious achievement.  These awards will be presented at the annual Prize Giving ceremonies.

Other academic awards may be presented at the Principal’s discretion.

Merit Cards may also be awarded by class teachers to acknowledge students’ commendable achievement in class work outside of the fixed pattern of awards outlined above.  These cards will be presented in class.

Silver and Gold Awards

The purpose of Silver Awards is to reward students for their outstanding effort, participation and involvement in College and related activities that do not involve academic or sporting pursuits.  Examples of the activities that will be considered for a Silver Award include:  community service, school representation (non-sport), contribution to the Religious life of the College, demonstrable leadership, social justice, cultural excellence, school service, Marist Spirit.  This is not an exhaustive list.  As students achieve in significant areas of endeavour that are not academic or sports related, they will be rewarded with a Commendation Certificate by the teacher responsible for the organisation of that activity or the relevant Welfare Coordinator.  Students will then accumulate Commendation Certificates in order to earn a Silver Award.

After gaining five Commendation Certificates, students may make application to the Moderating Committee (consisting of Assistant Principal, Senior Staff Member and Welfare Coordinator) to confirm their eligibility for a Silver Award.  Commendation Certificates and Silver Awards will be presented in Year Meetings at the end of the term in which the student becomes eligible for the award.

Once a student earns three Silver Awards, they may become eligible for a Silver Badge after making application to the Moderating Committee.  Students who have achieved a Silver Badge and then earn three additional Silver Awards, may apply to the Moderating Committee for a Gold Badge.  It will be possible for students who make an outstanding contribution to the life of the College to earn more than one Silver or Gold Badge during their time at the College.  Silver and Gold Badges will be presented during the End of Term Assembly following the determination of a student’s eligibility for either of these prestigious awards.

Students who are placed on a level will still be eligible for a Silver Award, under this system but will have to earn one additional Commendation Certificate each time they are placed on a Level 2, and two additional Commendation Certificates each time they are placed on a Level 3 or 4.

Chanel Award

The Chanel Award has been instituted to reward and acknowledge those students whose achievements and contributions to the College reflect the Marist Spirit.  This award is considered to be the most prestigious of all the awards presented by the College.  To qualify for a Chanel Award, a student must demonstrate excellence in at least two of the categories, Sports, Academic or Silver Awards as determined by the Moderating Committee.  The presentation of the Chanel Awards will take place at the annual Prize Giving ceremony.